About us

The State University "Dimitrie Cantemir" (USDC) is a public institution of higher education, subordinated to the Ministry of Education, Culture, and Research of the Republic of Moldova.

The institution, initially called the University of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova (UNAM), was founded by a Decree of the President of the Republic of Moldova no. 1093-IV of  April 23 2007, and registered in the State Register of Noncommercial Organizations of the Ministry of Justice with a State Identification Number - 1008600019692. UnAŞM was renamed as the State University "Dimitrie Cantemir" (USDC) according to Decision of the Government of the Republic of Moldova no. 197 of 22 February 2018, by which the founder of the institution becomes the Ministry of Education, Culture and Research of RM (MECC).

The headquarters of the university is 3/2 Academy str., Chisinau, Republic of Moldova. The official USDC website is www.usdc.md (www.edu.asm.md). The university day is celebrated annually on 27 April, and on this occasion are organized scientific, cultural and sports events.

The USDC provides studies on cycles I, II and III, financed by the state budget and paying the student fee as set out in the contract concluded with the beneficiary students, respecting the values of honest competition in promoting the educational image and offer.






The USDC mission is to train specialists and guide students in the fields of fundamental science and applied through high-quality study programs in all cycles and forms of university and postgraduate education.


  • promoting education and research in accordance with the requirements of a knowledge-based society through initial training, ongoing education and integration circuit values;
  • ensuring quality educational activities and of research and management by implementing the latest performance of national and international undergraduate and postgraduate education;
  • providing a framework for interconnections between science, innovation and the manufacturing sector;
  • internal and European increasing of the visibility of University by intensifying academic collaborations with the socio economic environment;
  • promoting an effective management system based on the principles of university autonomy, in partnership with the beneficiaries of educational services;
  • adaptation of educational supply to dynamics and requirements of the national labor market;
  • graduates motivation for fundamental scientific research in order to strengthen the scientific potential of ASM;
  • development and consolidation of doctoral programs in doctoral schools and / or centers of excellence;
  • quality of life of university students;
  • development of an institutional culture that promotes scientific excellence, teaching and community scientific, teaching and community excellence and to determine the entire academic community involvement in the implementation of the Quality Management System;
  • contribution to local and national development in terms of social, economic, cultural, through involvement in community life.


University education is organized in accordance with the principles of the Bologna Process and includes three courses of training - Bachelor, Master, PhD. University was accredited by the National Council for Accreditation and Attestation, RM, on the research profile of Bioinformatics and Functional Genetics and is empowered by doctoral activity on this profile, but in the Doctoral School of the Academy of Sciences, UnASM undertook to promote advanced doctoral studies, providing research institutes with ASM, training programs and postgraduate academic performance, including staff training in research.

Faculty of Natural Sciences

Departments: Departments: Biology, Ecology and Environmental Sciences

Collaborates with:

  • Institute of Genetics,Physiology and Plant Protection, ASM

  • Institute of Microbiology and Biotechnology, ASM

  • Institute of Zoology, ASM

  • Botanical Garden (Institute), ASM

  • Institute of Physiology and Sanocreatology, ASM

  • Scientific and Practical Institute of Crop

  • Institute of Ecology and Geography, ASM

  • Institute of Geology and Seismology, ASM

Bachelor's Specialties: Biology, Molecular biology, Ecology, Geography

Master's Programs: Biology, Molecular biology, Environmental sciences

PhD Specialties: Agricultural Chemistry, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Botany, Ecology, Protection and Environmental Engineering, General and Regional Geology, Genetics, Geophysics and Seismology, Geochemistry, Human and animal physiology, Hydrobiology, Ichthyology, Hydrogeology, Meteorology, Climatology, Agricultural Meteorology, Microbiology , Paleontology, Parasitology, Helminthology, Anatomical pathology, Selection and plant breeding, Plant physiology, Plant protection, Zoology

Faculty of exact sciences:

Departments:  Physics and Chemistry; Mathematics and Informatics

Collaborates with:

  • Institute of Applied Physics, ASM

  • Institute of Chemistry, ASM

  • Institute of Electronic Engineering and Industrial Technologies, ASM

  • Institute of Energetics, ASM

  • Institute of Geology and Seismology, ASM

  • Institute of Mathematics and Informatics, ASM

Bachelor's Programs: Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry

Master's programs: Mathematics and IT, Applied informatics, Physics, Chemistry


PhD Specialties:

Chemistry: Chemistry of active polyfunctional compounds, Electrochemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic chemistry, Physical chemistry;

Mathematics and informatics: Programming, Differential equations, Economical mathematical methods, Economy and management, Geometry and Topology, Mathematical analysis, Mathematical and theoretical physics, Mathematical cybernetics and operational calculus, Mathematical logics, Algebra and number’s theory, Mathematical modeling, Mathematical methods, Theoretical basics of mathematics;

Physics: Crystallography and Crystal physics, Devices and energy conversion systems, Solid State Electronics, Microelectronics and Nanoelectronics , Sources of electricity and electrical networks, New and renewable energy sources, Semiconductor physics and engineering, Solid state physics, Semiconductor technology and electronic engineering materials, Theoretical bases of Heat engineering.

Faculty of social humanistic sciences

Departments:  philosophy, history and research methodology ; Language and Literature

Collaborates with :

  • Institute of Cultural Heritage , ASM
  • Institute of European Integration and Political Sciences , ASM
  • Institute of History , State and Law , ASM
  • Institute of Philology , ASM
  • Institutul de Integrare Europeană şi Ştiinţe Politice, AŞM

Bachelor's programs: Romanian Language and Literature , English Language , Philosophy and Communication

Master's Programs : Globalization: History , Politics and European cultures , National Security , Demography Doctorate Specialties : Archaeology , Audio-visual Arts , Criminology, Economic Sociology and demography, Ethnology , Cultural and Historic Anthropology,  General Theory of Law, History of Moldova , Romanian History , Literature of  Moldova , Private Law , Public Law , International Public Law , Romanian Language and Literature , Medicine and social management , Social philosophy , Philosophical anthropology , Philosophy of culture , Social structure , Social institutions and processes , Studies of folklore, Theory and history of architecture , Theory and history of international relations , Theory of literature, Theory of philosophy, theory , Methodology and history of political science, Universal and Comparative Literature.